As originally designed, the pulpit and choir gallery were incor- porated into the north wall, with a gallery on the other three sides. If on a sunny day, one stands where the pulpit used to be, one can imagine the lighting effects as they were intended, all windows, in- cluding clerestory, allowing light to shine on the pulpit area. The original ceiling was much lighter in colour than the existing one.

In 1900 a fire destroyed this original ceiling, and William C. Harris was commissioned to design the present groined one. This ceiling is one of the most beautiful examples of groined vaulting on Prince Edward Island. It lowers the intended height of the original ceiling thereby creating an imbalance in the proportions of Gothic Revival architecture. It is possible that the clerestory windows were blocked

at this time, and the four centered arch in the north wall may also have been constructed.

In 1931 the original seating layout was changed, creating a centre aisle running east to west to the present chancel area which is a memorial to the Goodwill family. The gallery was removed on all but the east side. This change brought back the feeling of height typical

of Gothic Revival, but destroyed the intended effects and style of Early Gothic.

Through all the changes that have taken place, the Kirk remains one of the most impressive Gothic structures on Prince Edward Island.

In 1965 the Kirk Hall was renovated and extended toward the north to provide a Minister’s Study, and additional classroom space for the Church School. Many of the rooms have been furnished in

memory of former members of the congregation and their names have been suitably inscribed on plaques in the respective rooms.

STAINED GLASS IN THE KIRK

One of the outstanding features of the Kirk today is the beauty of its stained glass windows which portray some of the great events in the life of our Lord and tell in striking sequence the story of the Faith from its earliest origins in Old Testament times, through the Gospels and Epistles. and down through the Christian centuries since. These glorious windows, their subjects and their symbols are an inspiration and a stimulus to worship and comprehension of faith. Symbols can speak through time and language, to reveal man’s mind and beliefs in a most remarkable manner. They are guideposts, unexpected and gratifying along the way. In the archway over the main door is a window depicting Christ the King holding the orb of world dominion and with hand raised in blessing upon all who enter to worship and adore. This figure of the Saviour King is surrounded by the sweet faces of cherubs in Heavenly glory; the Alpha and Omega symbolize His everlasting power and dominion. This magnificent memorial is in tri-

bute to Dr. and Mrs. V.L. Goodwill, the gift of Dr. and Mrs. W.L. Bailey.

-4—